ToToTEK.COM Forum Index ToToTEK.COM
Help & Support Forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

If you find any SPAM or any problem from the forum, please PM Tomy. Thanks.


Game Doctor SF 7 BRAM Error

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ToToTEK.COM Forum Index -> Copiers and Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
borgdude



Joined: 10 Dec 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2020 12:16 am    Post subject: Game Doctor SF 7 BRAM Error Reply with quote

Hello,

I just got a game doctor sf 7 and when I do the self test it gives a BRAM K ERR.

How can I fix this?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
borgdude



Joined: 10 Dec 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2020 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I ordered replacement sram and some dip sockets. Hopefully that fixes the saving issue. I will post back here when I get them installed. Everything else works so hopefully it's just a dead ram chip and not a problem with the ASIC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
borgdude



Joined: 10 Dec 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2020 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I'm at a loss. I replaced the ram chip and that did not get rid of the error. Something is probably dead in the ASIC.

I am interested in buying GDSF7 if anyone has one for sale since I couldn't get this one working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mystic_Merlin



Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 408
Location: Bangkok

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2020 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sometimes those errors are triggered by a bad connection or incompatibility.
Check that all your connections are good.
It could be the ASIC but I would try at least on a different SNES if you have one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
borgdude



Joined: 10 Dec 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2020 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mystic_Merlin wrote:
Sometimes those errors are triggered by a bad connection or incompatibility.
Check that all your connections are good.
It could be the ASIC but I would try at least on a different SNES if you have one.


I tried it on another SFC and I got the same error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bishop702



Joined: 17 Dec 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2021 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys, just wanted to chime in. See if I can help. Mystic_Merlin, thanks for all your info and messages throughout the board. Thanks to being home so much due to covid i have been testing out my 3 GDSF7, 1 Game Professor II, 2 GDSF6 and 1 Game Professor I. I have learned a few things. I will be posting what I learned. Now for your issue, hope this helps you.

I had BRAM issues with several Game Doctors, especially ones that I had to cleaned up and restored. I found that the floppy drive power cable, though the solder looked good, it was very fine. I re-soldered and thickened the contact for the floppy power cable and BOOM it worked. I dont even have memory issues if i leave them plugged in over night now. Worked on a ProFighter 32m dsp also... Hope this helps.

Also you can take the floppy out completely and send the file using the com portand see if you still have a bram error.

Old School Gamer and Phreaker and Retailer of the Backup units. back in Toronto 94`.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ToToTEK.COM Forum Index -> Copiers and Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2011 phpBB Group