ToToTEK.COM Forum Index ToToTEK.COM
Help & Support Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New to SNES copiers, have a few questions...

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ToToTEK.COM Forum Index -> Copiers and Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Coffinspired

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:29 pm    Post subject: New to SNES copiers, have a few questions... Reply with quote

Hello all,

I'm new to copiers, I have a GD6 and a GD7 (GD7 currently being repaired) and I'm very excited to be part of this hobby. I have been able to do a few things with my GD6 and I'm really impressed with what it can do- however I do have a few questions, and after reading through the posts here for several days I can't really find the answers without asking.

1. Are you guys able to fit SNES roms larger than 1.4MB on a single floppy? If so, how? I used a few format programs to format a floppy up to 1.68MB, but the GD6 won't read it, and it seems silly to have two disks for games that are just 1.56MB, etc, like Asterix.

2. When your floppy drive fails in your unit, is there a standard drive you must use to replace the bad one, or can you use any replacement floppy drive?

3. Is there anything else I should know about using my GD's that I may not as a noob? LOL

Thanks for everything and cheers, your forum has been super helpful, great to be here!
MottZilla

PostPosted: Sat Aug 17, 2013 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can format to 1600Kb by using the drive in the Game Doctor. You can fit up to 12 megabits on a disk this way. That means it's possible to fit aynthing 12 megabits of less on 1 disk, and anything up to 24 megabits or less on 2 disks, and 36 megabits on 3 disks.