ToToTEK.COM Forum Index ToToTEK.COM
Help & Support Forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Are backup devices region locked?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ToToTEK.COM Forum Index -> Copiers and Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Astral



Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 4:54 am    Post subject: Are backup devices region locked? Reply with quote

Are disk based backup units region locked or useable on any region console?

Specifically the MGH? I'm in "PAL" territory but have sourced an "NTSC" version. Thing is, I don't think that even matters?! Does it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
system64



Joined: 17 May 2009
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Feb 08, 2014 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most backup units are region locked due to the SNES lockout chip. Disable the lockout chip in your SNES and you'll be able to use any backup unit on your system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Astral



Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2014 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really didn't think it was likely that it would make a difference at all. But what you've said is easy. I've already added a switch for that.

Thanks for the info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MottZilla



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 765

PostPosted: Sun Feb 09, 2014 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alternatively, the copier might contain a lockout/CIC chip that came from a retail cartridge or is a clone of one. It could then be replaced for the PAL version or vice versa if you didn't have a lockout defeat switch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DoctorBackup



Joined: 14 Aug 2005
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 5:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Only problem is PAL and NTSC. USA and JPN use NTSC so they can run easily
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ToToTEK.COM Forum Index -> Copiers and Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group