ToToTEK.COM Forum Index ToToTEK.COM
Help & Support Forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

If you find any SPAM or any problem from the forum, please PM Tomy. Thanks.


How to copy FDS 2.8" disk
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ToToTEK.COM Forum Index -> Copiers and Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tomy
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Aug 2005
Posts: 408

PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 7:06 am    Post subject: How to copy FDS 2.8" disk Reply with quote

Update on 16-JAN-2006 , add mgd1 to pc cable schematic

You need :

First,
1) Game Doctor (e.g. doctor 6+)
2) Famicom
3) 7201 FDS Drive
4) Copymaster v1.x (from BUNG)

You can copy disk to disk and tune driver speed.

Second,
1) MGD1 (Multi Game Doctor 1 from BUNG)
2) MGD1 to PC Cable
3) 7201 FDS Drive
4) MGD.EXE (from BUNG)

You can read fds disk to pc image, and write it back.
But MGD.EXE is for CPU 80386 PC

Third,
1) MGD1 (Multi Game Doctor 1 from BUNG)
2) MGD1 to PC Cable
3) 7201 FDS Drive
4) MGDLinker.EXE (from Tomy, use BUNG format image)

You can read fds disk to pc image, and write it back.
I tested with my 1.4Ghz and 2.4Ghz PC (winXP)

Forth,
1) fdsloader software
2) fdsloader cable

You can read fds disk to pc image, and write it back.
Also, you can emulate fds drive with pc parallel port.

MGD 1 picture : www.tototek.com/tomy/mgd1.jpg
MGD 1 to PC cable picture : www.tototek.com/tomy/mgd2pc_cable.jpg
MGD 1 to PC cable schematic : www.tototek.com/tomy/mgd1_to_pc_cable_schematic.jpg
MGD1 to PC Linker v1.1b by Tomy : http://www.tototek.com/tomy/fds/mgdlinker.rar


Last edited by Tomy on Sat Jul 11, 2009 2:29 am; edited 9 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Jagasian



Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will Tototek sell any of these things?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kazmat



Joined: 18 Apr 2005
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Tomy

I usually use Pasodisk to write FDS disk.

I also have MGD1 & Doctor 6+, and would like to try these method.

Can you send Copymaster v1.x image & FDSBackup.exe to me?

I need to know how to make MGD1 to PC cable.


Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tomy
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Aug 2005
Posts: 408

PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jagasian :

Yes, I'll sell them soon.

Kazmat :

Can you tell me Pasodisk any good , any bad, and how much ?

Can you post some picture of it ?

I have Copymaster image, but it is not .FDS image. It is original BUNG format.

And FDSBackup still in very beta now. Need to debug more before release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
rbudrick



Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I recently translated this document on how to copy FDS disks using Dubbing Cables and hacking the drive (if not a 7201).

http://nesdev.parodius.com/fdscopy.zip

I've been waiting for Memblers to post it on his site, but that was a month or two ago...

I actually found the source material and scanned it, and put the English over it. It looks great now, unlike the scans on Memblers site (unfortunately those were from photocopies).

I sent Memblers a Pm a few days ago asking when they'd be up, as a lot of people want to see them, but I haven't heard back yet.

By the way, the "Copy Tool 2" on Membler's site is an earlier version of the one above that I translated to English, so don't bother with it.

-Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbudrick



Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Doesn't Pasodisk require the Chameleon set?

-Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kazmat



Joined: 18 Apr 2005
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chameleon set ? Is this Chameleon-USB board ?

Recent version is require this board.

But my version is first version using printer port to read & write fds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kyuusaku



Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 941
Location: .ma.us

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.emusta.net/disk.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbudrick



Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good call, Kyuusaku. I forgot about the I-line and DiskTako...I've never used either one. Know the pros and/or cons of either?

If anyone can get the chameleon set for me, that would be awesome. The creator does not ship out of Japan, unfortunately.

This is becoming a long list of FDS backup methods. Smile I've always wanted to make a very detailed site showng the different ways to do this....just get lost in too many other projects.

We've got about 9 methods or so here now.

By the way, there is apparenty a way to backup FDS disks using a Sharp MZ-800 or MZ-1500 (Japanese version of mz800), or the mz-700+quickdisk drive. I have an MZ-1500, but I'm not sure how to do it. Also, I have the rare MSX quickdisk drive and an Turbo R MSX system...I hear there's a way to back up FDS disks with these, but I don't know how to do this yet either. Also, I hear there's a rare Amstrad quickdsk drive where the Amstrad could back the fds disks too. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to research that further either.

-Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kyuusaku



Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 941
Location: .ma.us

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All I know about I-Line is that it works since apparently most of the images out there were dumped by it. Never tried either of them, my I-Line is still with my bidder friend. (Not that I could use it if I had it, I don't have a PC-98)

There are too many ways now to dump FDS, wish there was one reliable free DIY interface.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbudrick



Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've always wondered if emulation could work with the I-Line somehow. Or if new software could be written for it...

-Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kyuusaku



Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 941
Location: .ma.us

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, it's nothing more than any other FDS/DB25 cable. Heres the pinout: http://www.emusta.net/iline.txt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbudrick



Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, ok, cool...so there wasn't any special hardware in there. Seems the dumping software is what controls whether bad CRCs occur. I've been wanting to investigate every method mentioned to check those that do and those that don't, and sort of make a matrix for them. I know FDSloadr causes them when dumping some games.

Oh, just remembered some other methods (though these are only for disk copying, not dumping):

Tonkachi Editor, Disk Hacker,(1, 1.2, 1.3, II).

-Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kyuusaku



Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 941
Location: .ma.us

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tonkachi can copy disks without hardware? Does it have to take multiple passes? Hacker needs the RAM adapter addon thing which is insanely rare (and fragile.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbudrick



Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You, know, I'm not sure, Kyuusaku. I have the software, I've just never got around to using them....Hopefully I'll have time to do that soon, but I'm in the middle of a massive NWC 1990 documentation project. Something tells me they do copy without extra hardware, but I really never doubted it until you said something, heh heh. I'm just not sure!

Hacker needs hardware other than FC+FDS? Hmmm...I didn't know that. Can you tell me more about this device?


-Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ToToTEK.COM Forum Index -> Copiers and Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 1 of 13

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2011 phpBB Group